RTC-02: 1951 Lament for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon & piano

Commission: [CBC?], written for Cassenti Players
Length: 6 min.
Completion: August 1951, Victoria
Premiere: 1960-04-08, CBC Vancouver [Broadcast], Cassenti Players
Publication: CMC

The Lament is written for woodwind quartet – flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and piano. The work begins with an expressive 12-tone row theme in low piano range – over low long-held pedal notes, followed by lyrical clarinet theme – followed by row theme a 4th lower – then bassoon takes up 12-tone row in ms. 9.

Later withdrawn